Event Details

On December 6, 2018, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s Transportation Research Board will host a public release of a consensus study report, Renewing the National Commitment to the Interstate Highway System: A Foundation for the Future. The event will begin at 11 AM ET, when the report is released to the public.

The report explores the actions needed to upgrade and restore the Dwight D. Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense Highways to its role as a premier system that meets the growing and shifting demands of the 21st century. The study was conducted pursuant to Section 6021 of the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act of 2015, which called on the Transportation Research Board, a program unit of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to lead the study effort.

In conducting the study, the committee sought input from outside experts from the transportation industry as well as highway users. The study report includes the committee’s specific recommendations regarding the features, standards, capacity needs, application of technologies, and intergovernmental roles to upgrade the Interstate System, including any revisions to law.

The event is open to the public, but seating is limited. Register to attend in person. Light refreshments will be provided.

Remote participation is available on http://bit.ly/FutureInterstateWebcast - no pre-registration required to view the webcast.

Invited Speakers include:

  • Norman Augustine (Chair), former chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Genevieve Giuliano, Margaret and John Ferraro Chair in Effective Local Government in the Sol Price School of Public Policy, University of Southern California, and Director of the METRANS joint USC and California State University Long Beach Transportation Center
  • Keith Killough, Director of Transportation Systems Analysis at the Arizona Department of Transportation
  • Michael Walton, Professor of Civil Engineering and the Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin (UT)

Opening remarks will be made by Neil Pedersen, Executive Director, Transportation Research Board.

Download the report on December 6, 2018 at 11 AM by visiting interstate.trb.org and follow the conversation on Twitter using #FutureInterstate.

  • When: Thu Dec. 6
    11:00 am - 12:00 pm

  • Address: 500 Fifth Street NW,
    Washington DC,US 20017

  • Web: Visit Website